Admitting you were wrong doesn’t mean that you’re weak or inept. In fact, being able to own up to your mistakes takes a lot of courage and self-awareness. It is a sign of maturity. For example, if you said you would pick up the dry cleaning but didn’t, don’t make an excuse. Just own that you said you would do something and you didn’t pull through.

If you own up to your part, the other person may not own up to theirs. Even if they don’t, know that you did the right thing by admitting your wrongs. Remember that you can only control your own actions, not anyone else’s. For example, if a project didn’t get finished and you were part of the problem, own up to your part. Don’t start blaming other people, even if they were part of the problem.

For example, if you let someone down, talk to them as soon as you can and let them know how you feel. Say, “I was going to go to your event, but I didn’t make it and it’s my fault. ”

For example, say, “I was wrong to yell at you yesterday. Even if I’m upset, I don’t want to yell. ”

For example, say, “I’m sorry I messed up the project. It’s my fault, and I take responsibility for things going wrong. ”

For example, say, “I can tell you’re disappointed. I would be, too. ”

For example, if you’re to blame for something at work, offer to stay later and fix your mistake. If you mess something up with your family or friends, say that it will be different next time and mean it.

For example, coming clean might mean you face consequences at work or school. Or, you may have to fess up to something to your family or partner that you know will make them upset. You might know some backlash will happen, but do the right thing.

For example, if you forgot something because you were rushed, try to slow down or allow more time for activities.

For example, meet with someone each week and talk about what you’re doing well and what you’re struggling with. Let each other know when the other needs to accept responsibility for wrongs.

Once you’ve taken all the steps to make things right, don’t live in guilt or shame. Let go of what happened. If your guilt over what happened is causing you a lot of distress, or you just can’t seem to move on, consider seeing a counselor to help you work through it.