Check out these examples: A sentence about 1998: Bob Smith was class president in ’98. A sentence about 2009: If I remember correctly, Kanye West stole Taylor Swift’s microphone in ’09. Keep in mind that an apostrophe (’) and closing quotation mark (‘) are not the same. Make sure the thicker end of your apostrophe is up, not down. Get the correct punctuation while typing by hitting the apostrophe key twice and then deleting the first apostrophe. [2] X Research source

The ’90s had really great music. The ’60s were full of social unrest. I really regret the fashion choices I made in the ’10s. The coronavirus put the start of the ’20s on hold.

Here are some examples: The 1914–18 war officially started after the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria. In the years 1997–2006, we released 5 albums, but none were successful. Create an en dash on a Mac using Option+Minus and a PC with Ctrl+Alt+Minus.

I saw her on Saturday, April 22, 2017, and my life hasn’t been the same since. Amy was born on February 13, 2008.

I saw her on Saturday, 22 April 2017, and my life hasn’t been the same since. Amy was born on 13 February 2008.

For example:[8] X Research source The semester starts on Sept. 1. (American English) The semester starts on the 1st of Sept. (British English) The months can be abbreviated as follows: Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. May June Jul. Aug. Sep. Oct. Nov. Dec.

Turn in your 6 yr report on Monday. Check how many yrs I’ve had car. Computer is 2–4 yrs old.